Skip to content

US Bans Travel From South Africa

South Africans intending to travel to the US beyond 30 January will be denied entry into the country.

On Monday, The White House confirmed President Joe Biden has signed a COVID-19 travel ban order, fearing the spread of the more infectious variant known as 501Y.V2.

The ban applies to South Africa, but it also includes Brazil, Ireland, the United Kingdom and 26 other countries in the European Schengen.

Only US citizens are exempt, but they will still be subjected to COVID-19 testing and quarantine measures.

Former President Donald Trump had ordered the bans to end on 26 January as one of his final acts in office.