Skip to content

Springboks Assemble Powerful Squad For Lions

  • 3 min read

Frans Steyn and Morné Steyn are in line to experience the rare honour of facing the British & Irish Lions for a second time after being named in a dynamic Springbok squad featuring several Rugby World Cup winners and exciting uncapped players for the British and Irish Lions Series and Georgia internationals.

Mark Alexander, President of SA Rugby, announced the squad on Saturday that will do duty for the first time since the Springboks lifted the Webb Ellis Cup in Japan on 2 November 2019, with 29 Rugby World Cup winners and eight uncapped players in the 46-man squad.

The Springboks will line up against Georgia on successive Fridays, 2 and 9 July, before battling it out against the British & Irish Lions in three Tests on 24 and 31 July, and 7 August respectively.

Siya Kolisi will continue to lead the team.

Springbok squad:


Thomas du Toit (Sharks, 12 caps, 0 pts)

Steven Kitshoff (Stormers, 47 caps, 5 pts)

Vincent Koch (Saracens, 21 caps, 0 pts)

Frans Malherbe (Stormers, 38 caps, 5 pts)

Ox Nché (Sharks, 1 cap, 0 pts)

Trevor Nyakane (Bulls, 42 caps, 5 pts)

Coenie Oosthuizen (Sale Sharks, 30 caps, 20 pts)


Joseph Dweba (Bordeaux-Bègles, uncapped)

Malcolm Marx (Kubota Spears, 33 caps, 25 pts)

Bongi Mbonambi (Stormers, 36 caps, 35 pts)

Scarra Ntubeni (Stormers, 1 cap, 0 pts)


Lood de Jager (Sale Sharks, 45 caps, 25 pts)

Eben Etzebeth (Toulon, 85 caps, 15 pts)

Nicolaas Janse van Rensburg (Montpellier, uncapped)

Franco Mostert (Honda Heat, 39 caps, 5 pts)

Marvin Orie (Stormers, 3 caps, 0 pts)

RG Snyman (Munster, 23 caps, 5 pts)

Loose forwards:

Dan du Preez (Sale Sharks, 4 caps, 0 pts)

Pieter-Steph du Toit (Stormers, 55 caps, 25 pts)

Siya Kolisi (Sharks, 50 caps, 30 pts) – Captain

Kwagga Smith (Yamaha Júbilo, 6 caps, 0 pts)

Marco van Staden (Bulls, 3 caps, 0 pts)

Duane Vermeulen (Bulls, 54 caps, 15 pts)

Jasper Wiese (Leicester Tigers, uncapped)

Utility forwards:

Jean-Luc du Preez (Sale Sharks, 13 caps, 10 pts)

Rynhardt Elstadt (Toulouse, 2 caps, 0 pts)


Faf de Klerk (Sale Sharks, 30 caps, 20 pts)

Herschel Jantjies (Stormers, 10 caps, 20 pts)

Sanele Nohamba (Sharks, uncapped)

Cobus Reinach (Montpellier, 14 caps, 30 pts)


Elton Jantjies (Pau, 37 caps, 281 pts)

Handré Pollard (Montpellier, 48 caps 457 pts)

Morné Steyn (Bulls, 66 caps, 736 pts)


Lukhanyo Am (Sharks, 15 caps, 15 pts)

Damian de Allende (Munster, 47 caps, 30 pts)

Jesse Kriel (Canon Eagles, 46 caps, 60 pts)

Wandisile Simelane (Lions, uncapped)

Frans Steyn (Cheetahs, 67 caps, 141 pts)

Outside Backs:

Aphelele Fassi (Sharks, uncapped)

Cheslin Kolbe (Toulouse, 14 caps, 40 pts)

Willie le Roux (Toyota Verblitz, 61 caps, 60 pts)

Makazole Mapimpi (Sharks, 14 caps, 70 pts)

Sbu Nkosi (Sharks, 11 caps, 40 pts)

Yaw Penxe (Sharks, uncapped)

Rosko Specman (Cheetahs, uncapped)

Damian Willemse (Stormers, 6 caps, 5 pts)