Skip to content

Proteas Tour To West Indies Confirmed

  • 3 min read

Cricket South Africa on Friday confirmed the Proteas men’s tour to West Indies following months of positive engagement with Cricket West Indies (CWI). It will be the South Africans’ first bilateral tour to the Caribbean since 2010, followed by a tri-series in 2016 that also featured Australia.

This tour, which had to be rescheduled from 2020, will include two test matches and five T20s, from 10 June to 3 July 2021 in St Lucia at the Daren Sammy Cricket Ground and Grenada at the National Cricket Stadium, respectively.

In their last bilateral encounter in the Windies in 2010, South Africa won the three-match test series 2-0 (the second fixture was drawn) and produced a white-ball sweep, winning the T20 and ODI series 2-0 and 5-0 respectively.

CSA Director of Cricket, Graeme Smith, is delighted to have the team return to the Caribbean and expressed his gratitude to CWI and the governments of St Lucia and Grenada for their helpfulness in ensuring the tour takes place.

“We are extremely pleased to have the men’s team’s tour to the West Indies officially confirmed. Covid-19 has played havoc with the ICC Future Tours Programme and we are thankful to Cricket West Indies and the governments of St Lucia and Grenada for ensuring that the tour goes ahead as planned. The hosting nations, in particular, came to the party at very short notice and Cricket South Africa would like to extend its immense gratitude to them for their enthusiasm and willingness to host us.

“Tours to the West Indies are always one of the most highly anticipated tours of them all, not only because of the beauty of the venues, but the quality and competitiveness of the cricket that is in store. We are looking forward to explosive displays of cricket and entertainment on our screens for fans around the world to consume as the two evenly matched countries come together for both test and T20 cricket.”

The Proteas are scheduled to arrive in St. Lucia on 1 June.

The tour is confirmed to be broadcast live on SuperSport.


10 – 14 June 1st test (DSCG) at 4pm CAT (SA, GMT+2)
18 – 22 June 2nd test (DSCG) at 4pm CAT (SA, GMT+2)
26 June 1st T20I (GNCS) at 8pm CAT (SA, GMT+2)
27 June 2nd T20I (GNCS) at 8pm CAT (SA, GMT+2)
29 June 3rd T20I (GNCS) at 8pm CAT (SA, GMT+2)
01 July 4th T20I (GNCS) at 8pm CAT (SA, GMT+2)
03 July 5th T20I (GNCS) at 8pm CAT (SA, GMT+2)

Full Venue Names

DSCG Daren Sammy Cricket Ground, St Lucia
GNCS National Cricket Stadium, St George’s, Grenada