Skip to content

Port Elizabeth And Two EC Airports Renamed

The East London Airport and the city of Port Elizabeth are officially changed after Arts and Culture Minister Nathi Mthethwa approved the new names in the Government Gazette.

Port Elizabeth is now Gqeberha, and its airport is called the Chief Dawid Stuurman International Airport.

The East London airport is now King Phalo Airport. Uitenhage is now called Kariega, King William’s Town is now Qonce, and Maclear is now Nqanqarhu.