Skip to content

More African Countries are Implementing Reciprocal Visa Waivers

Ghana and South Africa signed one which will take effect on November 1, 2023. The agreement allows travelers from both countries to transit through, depart from, and stay in the territory of the other country for up to 90 days without a visa, as long as they are not working. This is expected to boost tourism and trade between the two countries, as well as strengthen their bilateral relations. South Africa also signed a similar waiver with Kenya last year. However, many African countries also fear that implementing visa waivers would lead to increased crime, illegal immigration, and terrorism. Some countries may be reluctant to open their borders to other Africans, especially those from conflict-prone or unstable regions, as they may pose a threat to their national security and public health.