Skip to content

Malawi has Officially Lifted Visa Requirements for Visitors from 79 Countries    

The decision grants citizens of these countries visa-free entry for up to 90 days for business and tourism purposes. The new exemption also benefits the U.S., U.K., China, Russia, Germany, Australia and Canada. Members of the Southern African Development Community (SADC) and the Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (Comesa) will also enjoy visa-free entry into the country. Under the new visa regulations, the validity of multiple-entry visas in Malawi has been extended to up to 12 months. This will afford flexibility for those who need to travel to the country frequently. While the visa exemption is a significant step forward, it’s important to note that it does not apply to countries that impose visa requirements on Malawian citizens.