Skip to content

IFPMA And Speak Up Africa Announce Africa Young Innovators For Health Award Shortlist

The International Federation of Pharmaceutical Manufacturers & Associations (IFPMA) and Speak Up Africa announce the 15 shortlisted applicants who are now in the running to win the African Young Innovators for Health Award. The 15 shortlisted applicants, in alphabetical order, are:

  • Angella Kyomugisha, Kaaro Health Uganda 
  • Chrispin Akuzwe, Smart Chair Patient Monitoring System
  • Conrad Tankou, GICMED
  • Dysmus Kisilu, SolarFreeze 
  • Emmanuel Kamuhire, A-Lite Uganda
  • Harrison Suhnfor, H&S Technologies
  • Imodoye Abioro, Mediverse
  • John Mwangi, Daktari
  • Mohamed Taha Ben Mhenni, Vitah
  • Marie Chantal Umunyana, Umubyeyi
  • Nuriat Nambogo, MobiCare 
  • Peaceman Rwema, Pharmadoc
  • Richard Seshie, ALLO SANTE
  • Sesinam Dagadu, SnooCODE
  • Stephen Ogweno, Stowelink

The Africa Young Innovators For Health Award is an investment in the human capital of Africa’s promising young entrepreneurs. The Award provides financial and in kind support to three winners of the Award so they can advance their healthcare solutions and develop their great potential as enablers of change.

In its first edition, the Award has received more than 300 applications from 33 countries from across Africa.  A technical review team of leading global health and business organisations reviewed and selected the shortlist of 15 applicants. The selection process considered how innovative, scalable, sustainable, and commercially viable the applicant’s idea is. This review also assessed the ability of the team to take the innovation to the next stage of development. And whether the invention supports, equips, protects or trains those on the frontline of delivering healthcare to communities – healthcare workers.

“From cold storage solutions to diagnostic tools, 3D printing solutions, and training platforms for healthcare workers – we are extremely impressed by the applications selected for the shortlist. These applications are a shining example that young Africans are passionate about contributing to overcoming our continent’s most pressing healthcare challenges,” says Yacine Djibo, Executive Director of Speak Up Africa. 

Greg Perry, Assistant Director-General, IFPMA, added, “This Award supports pioneering young health entrepreneurs across Africa bring their innovations to life. Providing financial and in-kind support to winners to realise their great potential as enablers of change while developing local capacity for healthcare innovation. The shortlist is an important milestone in our search for the three winners.”

The winners’ announcement will take place at the official Awards ceremony on Thursday, 16 September 2021. Winners will receive funding worth up to a combined $75,000, a three-month mentorship programme and technical support for intellectual property protection if needed.

The Africa Young Innovators for Health Award is supported by AMREF Health Africa, BroadReach, Ecobank Academy, Forum Galien Africa, IntraHealth International, Microsoft4Afrika, the Ouagadougou Partnership, the Organisation Africaine de la Propriété Intellectuelle, the RBM Partnership to End Malaria, and Social Change Factory. Alongside our media partners:, Télésud and SciDev.Net.

For more information about the Award visit: