Skip to content

BlitzBoks Outplay NZ In Cup Final

  • 2 min read

BlitzBok flyer Rosko Specman helped South Africa to a 15-0 victory over New Zealand on Saturday to win the opening leg of the World Rugby Sevens Series in Dubai.

The South Africans scraped past Argentina 12-5 in the quarterfinals before routing Samoa 38-7 in the semifinals.

New Zealand had overcome the United States (26-5) and England (19-12) to set up the Final, but the Boks proved too strong, keeping the All Blacks pointless as they notched up a seventh title in the United Arab Emirates.

“I’m so proud of the boys. We call ourselves a defence team and we are proud of that. That’s what the boys showed tonight,” the Blitzbokke’s Siviwe Soyizwapi said.

The South African made the New Zealand work on defence throughout the first half and there were a few try-saving tackles that kept the BlitzBoks out.

However, Neil Powell’s side eventually opened the scoring in the final seconds of the first half with Siviwe Soyizwapi running in for a try after sustained pressure.

The BlitzBoks continued where they left off in the first half when Chris Dry finished off a relentless attack in the fourth minute of the second half to score his team’s second try.

The game was put to bed in the final minute when Seabelo Senatla pounced on a loose ball before sprinting downfield to score his team’s third try to secure the win

In the bronze final, England edged Samoa 19-17.

There was some comfort for New Zealand fans, however, as their women’s team, fired by standout Stacey Waaka, ran out 17-14 winners over Canada to retain their Dubai title.

Day Three Results:

Cup Final:

New Zealand 0-15 South Africa

Bronze Final:

England 19-17 Samoa

Ninth place play-off:

Fiji 40-17 Canada

Eleventh place play-off:

Ireland 14-19 Spain

Cup semifinals:

England 12-19 New Zealand
South Africa 38-7 Samoa

Thirteenth place play-off:

Kenya 26-14 Scotland

Fifteenth place play-off:

Wales 38-12 Japan

Cup quarterfinals:

France 12-19 England
New Zealand 26-5 USA
South Africa 12-5 Argentina
Austral 14-19 Samoa